Shameless Self Promotion


Just a quick post announcing that this past Saturday the 28th my most recent poem was read aloud on the radio.  The show is called Fly Over Zone and airs every Saturday between 9am – 12pm on WQNA 88.3FM if you are in the Springfield Illinois or surrounding area.  I just listened to the show for the first time and was introduced to it by Siobhan Johnson whom I have met through the spoken word nights at The Pharmacy, which I have mentioned before.  Siobhan is an occasional host from what I have gathered, the show being the brainchild of Hugh Moore, another local poet/artist type person.  The show is pretty wonderful from what I heard, consisting of odd bits of music, talk about this, that and everything else, some poetry as well as interviews with local groups, artists or other persons of interest, so I would highly recommend giving it a listen.  The link above takes you to the archives of the show where you can stream previous episodes it would appear from the show’s inception with each show broken down into three one hour segments.  If you are particularly interested in hearing Siobhan read my piece it is on  show number 434 in the third hour at approximately 3 minutes in and it sounds very nice being read in her voice.  I am both very proud that something I wrote struck someone as being worth sharing in this way, so I would like to thank both Hugh and Siobhan for that, but I also want to draw attention to a show that I think is highly worth listening to as it is intelligent, witty, informative and slightly odd, which we could all do with much more of in my humble opinion.  That is all for now, so long and thanks for all the fish.

3 Responses to “Shameless Self Promotion”

  1. emisformaker Says:

    OMG! That was awesome!! Poetry is so different when it’s read aloud. Maybe, when next we visit, I can accompany you to this Pharmacy place for some open mic time.
    Can’t wait!

    • It would be awesome if you could make it down for an open mic night. They are the fourth Thursday of every month, so if you timed a visit for the end of a month we could probably go together. It is a great group of people and you would like the fact that it is held in a working artist’s studio as well.

  2. blackwatertown Says:

    Congratulations.
    What a buzz!

Leave a Reply

