Words On Things


I have been a bad blogger, I admit it.  It has been far too long since I have posted anything, and that needs to stop.  I started this blog with the intention of writing more, not less and while I have had some success with that, I have let things slide horribly lately and that just will not do.  This post is more just an update rather than a creative piece, just to let any of my readers know what has been going on and to get back into the habit of posting.  My second chapter is at a standstill at the moment, which is another reason why I haven’t been posting much.  I feel guilty that I am not getting it done and it makes it hard to work on anything else because I feel I should be working on it, however the whole of what I have written so far will have to go as I am just not happy with the shape its in and I don’t feel it stands up well against the first chapter.  That being said, anyone waiting on that next chapter will have to keep on waiting, at least for a while.  I do plan on posting some updates relating to that story though, perhaps some character outlines of the principle people as well as an over all outline of where I will be going with the story.  Consider this right now to be a spoiler alert, as I want to put up here not only the story itself but my process as well and I will be talking about things that wont know their written form in the story for a long while so if you are interested in finding out how things happen as if you were reading a novel just be warned that you may see things  on here that could ruin that for you.  I will put up additional alerts for those posts about plot points and such that might be dangerous so you will have fair warning ahead of time.

The other thing I am going to make a conscious effort  to do from here on out is increase my output of smaller pieces, just to keep the creativity going, so look out for more poetry and strange prose pieces like that ramble I last did on how the ideas wont come today.  I have been far too lazy and I need to shape up my mental muscle as I think it is going to take every once of creativity I have to pursue my goal of finishing a novel before I die and I think that it will be vital to that process to just keep creating, even if I am stuck on what to do next with the ongoing story of the fox boy Renard.  I tend to get in a funk when I am mired down on a project and this often has lead to abandoning things in the past and I really don’t want to do that this time.  I have resolved to post at least two new things here a week, whether they are related to the novel or entirely new in the hope that by keeping my mind going it will move all of my writing forward.  I also think I need the discipline this resolution will bring and that is very important, because I am a lazy fucker sometimes and I need to kick my own ass ’cause no one is going to do it for me.

That’s it for just now, I felt I owed those who have been following this blog with any degree of regularity some explanation of why I have been away so long and I wanted to let all of you out there know that I will be keeping things going with much more regularity going forward.  Thanks for listening and reading if you have been.  I will be back anon with more, you can count on it.  Cheers.

One Response to “Words On Things”

  1. Would have liked it sooner, but we just got our internet hook up back on.
    Don’t beat yourself up too much, or you’ll stop finding reasons to write, and start finding reasons not to. I wholeheartedly agree with the keeping up with small stuff idea. Even disjointed ramblings have their place in the creative hierarchy, and – as I pointed out with the one about ideas – can be very successful. If you’d care to take a peek at my own blog, post-hiatus, you’ll see I’m not above a bit of filler posting while I wait for the dust to settle, and for new ideas to present themselves.
    Short version: accentuate the positive; or, use more honey and less poop in the fly trap that is your creativity.

Leave a Reply

