More thoughts on memory


More thoughts on memory

by Matthew Brewes on Saturday, May 26, 2007 at 10:56pm

Ever since I got on facebook, I’ve found myself contemplating memory and how little things can trigger a flood of rememberances. Lately I was struck by how deeply a song can become linked in your mind with a person. For instance, every time I hear “Winter” by Tori Amos, I am instantly reminded of Vicki, or if I hear “Always A Woman” by Billy Joel I think of Russ (not because of the title, for those who spent any significant amount of time in my room on Banner, you’ll understand) It’s almost pavlovian, as soon as the first notes play I have this image of the person right in front of me. I just thought I’d share. Again, for those who know me these sudden bursts of random philosophy will come as no surprise.

via More thoughts on memory.

Leave a Reply

